miniheader sbg curriculum


Home | CURRICULUM AND PEDAGOGY | Assessment and Reporting | NESA


NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA)

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) replaced the Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards NSW (BOSTES) on 1 January 2017.

NESA has an increased focus on:

  • - developing evidence-based policy to improve student achievement and support teachers
  • - risk-based monitoring of Teacher Accreditation Authorities and schools.

NESA will set and monitor quality teaching, learning, assessment and school standards. This includes responsibility, across NSW public, Catholic and independent schools, for:

  • - Kindergarten to Year 12 curriculum
  • - accreditation of teachers and teaching degrees
  • - the internationally recognised HSC
  • - school registration and home schooling

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for developing Kindergarten to Year 12 syllabuses for NSW schools. 

The NSW curriculum includes the Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of English, Mathematics, Science, Human Society and its Environment (HSIE), Languages, Technologies, Creative Arts and Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE). 

Each KLA includes syllabuses for K–10 and Years 11 and 12 that are inclusive of the learning needs of all students.

Syllabuses identify:

  • - the knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes students are expected to    
  •   develop at each stage
  • - outcomes and content that describe what students are expected to know and do
  •   cross-curriculum priorities, general capabilities and other important learning for all  
  •   students.

Stages of learning

The NSW curriculum is organised in seven stages of learning.

Kindergarten to Year 6 (K–6) includes four stages of learning.

  • Early Stage 1–Kindergarten
  • Stage 1–Year 1 and Year 2
  • Stage 2–Year 3 and Year 4
  • Stage 3–Year 5 and Year 6

The NSW K–6 syllabuses have been designed to be taught within NESA’s recommended percentages for each Key Learning Area in a typical school week.

For more information go to