miniheader sbg curriculum


Home | CURRICULUM AND PEDAGOGY | Learning and Teaching

Learning and Teaching

St Brigid’s Catholic Parish Primary School is registered by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board. NESA sets and monitors quality teaching, learning, assessment and school standards. 

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for developing Kindergarten to Year 12 syllabuses for NSW schools. 

The NSW curriculum includes the Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of:

Human Society and its Environment (HSIE)
Creative Arts
Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

Each KLA includes syllabuses for K–10 and Years 11 and 12 that are inclusive of the learning needs of all students.

In addition, a course in Religious Education is taught in theory and practice.

The Primary Curriculum is organised into Stages: 

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage. Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage.

Student progress is formally reported to parents with mid-year and end of year reports. These reports use an A-E grading criteria, with a ‘C’ grade indicating that the student is achieving the outcome. Parents are partners in the education of their children and are welcome to make appointments to speak with teachers about their child.

The myschool website provides parents and students with information on each school’s performance in NAPLAN.